News Release

Annual Northwest School of Agriculture Alumni Reunion

By Maggie Mills on
Monday, June 5, 2017

The Northwest School of Agriculture (NWSA) Alumni Association welcomes alumni back to the University of Minnesota Crookston campus on Saturday, June 24, 2017, for their annual reunion. Three outstanding alumni will be honored with the Top Aggie award, which is the highest honor a Northwest School alumnus can receive. The award recognizes alumni who have displayed exemplary commitment and service to community, church, education, family, or in their occupational field. 

The Top Aggies for 2017 are Marilyn (Hovet) Dehning '56, West Linn, Ore.; Donald Diedrich '56, Warren, Minn.; and Daniel Wilkens '61, Fertile, Minn. These outstanding individuals will be recognized during a special luncheon on Saturday. 

The NWSA was a residential high school located on the Crookston campus from 1906-68. The reunion is planned by the Office of Development & Alumni Relations in cooperation with the NWSA Alumni Association board and is always held the last Saturday in June. 

The NWSA alumni reunion, first held in 1918, brings back alumni from the Northwest School of Agriculture, a residential high school located on what is now the University of Minnesota Crookston campus. The NWSA graduated its first class of 8 students in 1909. 

The University of Minnesota Crookston now delivers 34 bachelor's degree programs, 22 minors, and 40 areas of emphasis on campus as well as 14 degree programs entirely online.  These degrees are offered in the areas of agriculture and natural resources; business; liberal arts and education; and math, science and technology.  With an enrollment of 1,800 undergraduates from more than 20 countries and 40 states, the Crookston campus offers a supportive, close-knit atmosphere that leads to a prestigious University of Minnesota degree.  "Small Campus. Big Degree."  To learn more, visit


Elizabeth Tollefson

University Relations


News Categories