News Release

Spring 2013 Student Awards Ceremony Recognizes Achievement in Academics, Athletics, Service, and Leadership

By ltollefs on
Wednesday, May 1, 2013

The annual Student Awards Program, a celebration of student service, leadership, and academic and athletic achievement, was held recently at the University of Minnesota Crookston. Assistant Professor Denis Maier, who teaches in the Business Department, was the 2012 Outstanding Educator and hosted this year's recognition.

Award recipients include the following students:

CSA Student Senators and Officers

Brooke Novak; Ross Sigler; Bryce Gillie; Aaron Soltau, Heather Rodriguez; Mariah Gautsche; Emily Goff; Molly Sheehan; Anthonette Sims; and Gyaltso Gurung, Laura Gabrielson; Ashlynn Hartung; Alexmai Addo; Adam Switzer; Kayla Bellrichard; and Shaolei "Sorry" Jin.

Outstanding Ambassadors

Catlin Kersting, Tashi Gurung, Sam Zuck, Katie Hagen, Sarah Morris, Jordan Melbye

Tony Taylor, Kevin Lamp, Alex Skeeter, Alissa Hernandez, Jessica Girgen, Mikala Guidinger

Sorry Jin, Danny Lee, Bryce Gillie, Justin Goodroad

Ambassador of the Year Award

Bryce Gillie

Outstanding First-Year Biology Award

Ashley Martell

Outstanding Future Educator Award

Dabitna Chung, Amy Van Treeck

Marketing/ Management Academic Achievement Award

Dain Park and Alex Buscher

Marketing/Management Outstanding Leadership Award

Dain Park, Abbey Wemimo, Hannah Reysen, Kayla Bellrichard

Distinguished Service to the Accounting Program

Dae Yeul "Danny" Lee

Outstanding SRM Student

Kari Bodine

Outstanding Communication Student

Jessica Stuber 

Outstanding Communication Minor

Connie Vandermay 

SOS Service Award

Alexmai Addo, Catilin Kersting

Outstanding SOS Leader

Almir Krdzalik

Peer Connection Service Award

Alexmai Addo and Brooke Novak

Peer Mentor of the Year Award

Catlin Kersting

Regal Spirit Award

Kayla Bellrichard, and Tyler Lowithan

Outstanding Turfgrass Student Award

Kyle Kreklow, Kurtis Wacker, Joey Schmidt, with Kristie Walker

Norman Pankratz Memorial Conservation Award

Jenny DuBay 

John Polley Soil and Water Conservation Award

Trent Brenny and Andrew Albertsen with Dan Svedarsky

The Wildlife Society Travel Award

Alisha Mosloff 

Outstanding Animal Science

Sara Scott (pre-vet) 

Outstanding Equine Science

Jess Charles (pre-vet)

Outstanding Ag Business Student

Amanda Crook 

Outstanding ASM Student

Leonard Will and Matt Green 

Outstanding Horticulture

Ashlynn Hartung

NACTA Recognition

Meats  Team: Dustin Wiese,  Katie Hagen, Justin Goodroad and Derek Suhonen 

Ag Business Dustin Smith, Katie Hagen, Matt Green, and Kayla Erickson

Ag Computers: Cedric Citrowske, Amanda Crook, Drew Underdahl and Brian Oachs 

Outstanding International Student Scholars Award

Ashley Yun Zhor; Brennan Andreas; Danny Lee; and Tashi Gurung

Learning Abroad Office Ambassador Awards

Tim Baker; Amanda Corneliussen; and DeAndra O'Connell 

Support of Diversity Award

Outstanding Theater Student Award

Liz Massie

Tyler Lowithan

Nathan Anderson

Outstanding Music Service Award

Rebecca Apitz 

Miah Smith 

Outstanding Writing Tutor

Rowenna Fillmore

Computer Help Desk

Melissa Freitag 

Student Employee of the Year

Adam Hoff 

Female and Male Student Athlete of the Year

Chelsea Wiesner and Almir Kradzlik

Female and Male Outstanding Athlete of the Year

Brittany Wiese and Brittany Looker and Richard Haley

Justin Knebel Memorial Award

Broderick Schmidt

Dale Knotek Community Service Award - Delta Theta Sigma (DTS)

Joshua Bruggman, Tim Lee, Brett Carlson, Clayton Lenk, Aaron Soltau, Marcus Twaddle

Kasey Okke, Adam Switzer, Dan Kimm, Hannah Reysen, Sami Benoy, Evan Boreen, Amanda Corneliussen, Brittany Fox

Presidents Volunteer Service Award

Megan Luxford, Chia Moua, Kari Bodine, Bailey Stratton (online student), Katie Nenn, Kevin Lamp Tony Taylor, Krista Kenyon, Emily Goff, Alexmai Addo, Catlin Kersting, Kayla Bellrichard, Alissa Hernandez, Almir Krdzalic Kasey Okke, Sean Rozell, Tyler Lowthian, Bryce Gillie, Ross Sigler

Student Volunteer of the Year Award

John Niemczyk with Lisa Loegering

Student Programmer of the Year

Ashley Hoffman

Outstanding CSA Senator

Alexmai Addo 

Outstanding CSA Voting Delegate Award

Megan Luxford

Faculty and Staff Awards

Outstanding Educator

Ron Del Vecchio 

Most Supportive of Students

Phil Baird 

Outstanding Service to Students

Lisa Samuelson 

Student Achievement Awards

en Williams, Bryce Gillie, Almir Krzadlic, Matt Green

Krista Kenyon, Tashi Gurung, Abbey Wemimo, Brooke Novak

Alexmai Addo, Danny Lee, Sam Zuck- Roscoe, and Alex Skeeter

Man and Woman of Year

Dae Yuel Danny Lee and Sam Zuck-Roscoe 

Athletic All-Academic Team - 3.2 GPA or higher and lettering in the same sport for two years

Rachelle Alcini - Women's Soccer

Matthew G. Borowicz - Football

Carli Bunning - Women's Basketball

Karen Carpenedo - Equestrian - Western

Jessica Charles - Equestrian - Hunt Seat

Jensen Crots - Women's Soccer

Zach D. Cymbaluk - Men's Golf

Amanda Krueger - Equestrian - Western

Kelly Gustofson - Women's Golf

Rachel Halligan - Women's Soccer

Shelby Hollinger - Softball

Jesse Jennings - Baseball

Caitlin Kelley - Equestrian - Western

Samantha Kramer - Equestrian - Hunt Seat

Almir Krdzalic - Men's Basketball

Brittany Looker - Women's Volleyball

Stacey Marcum - Softball

Ashley Martell - Women's Basketball

Myint Maung- Football

Keith McBride - Football

Erin Mears - Women's Soccer

Mary Mikutowski - Women's Volleyball & Golf

Brooks Miller - Baseball

Hannah Nedrud - Equestrian - Hunt Seat

Amanda Overman - Equestrian - Hunt Seat

Casey Paris - Women's Tennis

Josh Perea - Football

Angela Peterson - Equestrian - Hunt Seat

Josee Plante - Softball

Jordan Prill - Baseball

Jesse Roscoe - Men's Golf

Shannan Salm - Equestrian - Western

Hannah Schiller - Women's Volleyball

Broderick Schmidt - Men's Basketball

Alyssa Schneider - Women's Volleyball

Christopher Secrest - Football

Drew Selvestra - Football

Alexandra Skeeter - Women's Volleyball

Joseph Stearly - Football

Andrew Steinfeldt - Football

Annalee Sundin - Equestrian - Hunt Seat

Brooke Vatthauer - Softball

Chelsea Wiesner - Women's Volleyball

Yahna Zastrow - Equestrian - Western

Today the University of Minnesota Crookston delivers 26 bachelor's degree programs, 18 minors, and 36 concentrations, including 10 online degrees, in the areas of agriculture and natural resources; business; liberal arts and education; and math, science and technology.  With an enrollment of 1,600 undergraduates from 25 countries and 40 states, the Crookston campus offers a supportive, close-knit atmosphere that leads to a prestigious University of Minnesota degree.  "Small Campus. Big Degree."  To learn more, visit

News Categories