News Release

Student Achievement Awards

By Elizabeth Tollefson on
Friday, April 21, 2017

The University of Minnesota Crookston held their annual Student Awards Celebration on Thursday, April 20 in Kiehle Auditorium. student achievement award recipients

Each year a group of students is selected to receive Student Achievement Awards, which recognize those students who have excelled not only academically, but also through leadership and service to the University and local community.  The students are nominated by faculty and staff in early spring and then complete an application form where they report their involvement in clubs, activities, services organizations and list awards and achievements.  Each student is ranked in six categories:  GPA, Honors, Leadership, Campus Activities, Community Service, and UMC Service.  The top nominees receive the Student Achievement Awards, and from that group, two students are recognized with the year's top academic and student service award, the Man and Woman of the Year Award. 

Man and Woman of the YearMan and Woman of the Year 

Seniors Ryan Rynda and Tareyn Stomberg (photo, left) were named Man and Woman of the Year capping off this evening’s Student Awards Celebration. Stomberg is a senior double majoring in ag business and animal science from Menahga, Minn., and Rynda is a software engineering major from Argyle, Minn.

Student Achievement Awards  (photo, right)

In the photo are student achievement award recipients. In the back row, left to right, are Trina Wiesel, a senior majoring in elementary education from Alexandria, Minn.; Delaney Kohorst, a senior majoring in management from Cohasset, Minn.; Shane Boehne, a junior majoring in natural resources from Henderson, Minn.; and Bailey Braatz, a senior majoring in marketing and business management from Buffalo, Minn.

Middle row: Heidi Shol, a senior majoring in horticulture from Crookston, Minn.; Ellen Dauphinais, a senior animal science major from Parkers Prairie, Minn., Kary Sheppard, a senior majoring in exercise science and wellness from Grand Rapids, Minn.; Karen Choi, a senior majoring in environmental science and biology from Seoul, South Korea. 

Front row: Dale Knotek, representing the Lions Club; Man of the Year Ryan Rynda and Woman of the Year Tareyn Stomberg, and Lisa Samuelson, Crookston Student Association advisor.

Not pictured: Baillee Hauser, a senior from Raymond, Minn., double majoring in health management and accounting. 



Elizabeth Tollefson

University Relations


News Categories