News Release

Teambacker Golf Classic Raises More than $8,000 for Scholarships

By Elizabeth Tollefson on
Friday, July 28, 2017

Winning TeamThe University of Minnesota Crookston Teambacker Golf Classic was held Friday, July 14, 2017, at Minakwa Golf Course in Crookston, Minn., and the tournament helped the U of M Crookston Football Alumni Scholarship exceed the $25,000 needed to endow it.  The 27th annual tournament raised more than $8,000 with a total of 16 teams of 79 golfers participating.

The winning team, sponsored by Lithia Ford Lincoln, included Nick Bergan, Austin Skjei, Jake Abrams, Steve Hagen, and Brice Enger. They took home the Altru Cup with a score of 55. Second place went to the team sponsored by Bremer which was Tom Skjei, Scott Sanders, Jay Ricord, Mark Bruggeman, and Rich Clauson. The third place team sponsored by Dee, Inc. was Chad Erdmann, Travis Nicholas, Scott Corbin, Tony Huotte, and Jon Street.
Teambackers would like to extend a special thanks to the members of the 1997 UMC Athletic Hall of Fame Football team who came back to participate in the Golf Classic including Cory Schreifels, Chad Marthauler, Chris Bruggeman, and Mark Olsonawski. Thanks are also extended to the many volunteers and our many loyal sponsors who helped make the tournament a success. 
Mark your calendar for next year's Teambacker Golf Classic slated for Friday, July 20. 
In the photo: 

Winning Team - U of M Crookston Associate Development Officer Derek Martin, Nick Bergan, Brice Enger, Steve Hagen, Jake Abrams, Austin Skjei, and U of M Crookston Chief Development Officer Brandy Chaffee.


Elizabeth Tollefson

University Relations


News Categories