Dowell Hall from an aerial viewDowell Hall could be considered one of the most active buildings on campus. On its three floors, it is home to various classrooms and laboratory facilities where many of UMC's courses meet. It can also be considered a technology hub. The Dowell Annex--linked to the north of "Dowell Proper" on the first floor--provides office space for many faculty members.

Building Services, Offices and Points of Interest

Building Services, Offices and Points of Interest

Building History

Building History

Superintendent Austin DowellDowell Hall is named for Austin A. Dowell, who served from 1927 to 1937 as superintendent of the Northwest School of Agriculture (NWSA), UMC's precursor which was a residential high school. Today Dowell Hall, which was built and dedicated in 1972, stands on the site of the original NWSA Home Economics Building, the first building constructed on campus in 1906. 

Dowell Annex, which is today home to faculty offices, was originally built in 1926 as the NWSA's student health services building.

The Alseth-NWSA Business Boardroom (Dowell 116), a special classroom built to simulate a state-of-the-art business boardroom, opened for student use in early 2009. Dowell Hall's third floor science labs (Biology, Chemistry and Physics) were renovated with major updates in 2010. That same year an immersive computer visualization and informatics lab suite (now called the UCLEAR Lab) was created from classroom space on the second floor. 

Building Location Map

Building Location Map

Building 360s & Tour Videos

Building Floorplans